Trust and the learning that might be

Each day, my class returns from their lunch hour to calming instrumental music and the understanding that the next 20-30 minutes will be Quiet Time. This portion of our day has morphed from what I started as reading and writing time to more of a choice time. Students voiced that they’d like to have the option to continue their math learning, practice their typing skills, or engage in some other learning activity. Some wanted a break from their learning; others wanted a different type of learning than what I had prescribed. Either way, we discussed and modified our systems to allow for choice. Through learning about priorities and evaluating what learning comes from various activities we might engage in, students typically choose activities that better themselves. I often don’t interfere with their choice.

Recently, a group of students began creating an imaginary country. It started when two girls decided to extend their project from our unit inquiring into government systems. I started hearing about Blobbainia more and more each day. People were signing up, multiple “presidents” were being appointed (“I see you’ve chosen to not use a democratic system,” I observed one day during our discussions.) This was becoming something.

After hearing about it for a few days, I realized Blobbainia wasn’t going away. Frustrated that my students had chosen to spend so much of their time on what I had seen as a silly endeavour, I had a meeting with the group. My intention was to challenge the group to find the learning in what they were doing and to justify their decisions. I admit, I didn’t expect to find much learning. I mean, they were barely using the knowledge they gained from the previous unit!

What I heard in our discussion changed my mind.

They were building off what they started in the previous unit, and were thinking about how their current learning might fit into their country. We’ve currently inquiring into natural resources, focusing on consumption, accessibility, and sustainability. I started to see a myriad of ways that this activity is or might be a great learning experience:

  • What role do governments play in ensuring fair access to all its citizens?
  • What do governments do to ensure their nation is engaging in sustainable practices?
  • How do citizens play a part in all of this?

The list of questions goes on. These are all ways that this group might continue their fun activity, while also demonstrating their understanding of our current central idea (and the previous one).

I prompted the group to consider the following questions:

  • How might you continue in a way that is inclusive to all students in the grade level? (The group had begun to span across classes, and they were no longer “accepting” new members because it was getting too large to manage. We avoid exclusivity of this sort.)
  • How will you document and communicate your learning?
  • What is the role of each “president”? Is each president actually more a minister of ____?
  • What type of government system does your nation have? (Do citizens vote? Is there one leader? Who decides the leader? How are conflicts resolved?)

One student volunteered to taking meeting minutes and the group agreed to discuss at least the first of my questions.

I left the group at a table outside and returned to the classroom, pondering how I might have been so negative about their activities. Sure, some students might have been viewing this as just something fun. But isn’t that where true learning happens: when students are doing things they love and that they not only choose themselves, but that they create?

I see so many possibilities for where this group might go. Blobbainia could end up being a a synonym for Grade 5 at our school. Students might elect leaders, vote to make decisions, have different ministries to take action in various ways….. Maybe it’ll extend to next year… The possibilities really seem endless.

Whatever happens, I’ll be happy that something came from our last unit’s project.

And I will move forward remembering that children are curious, kind, joyful little humans. I might provide the map, but will let them find their way. I will remember to embrace their curiosity and trust them and their intentions.

Featured photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Leave a comment